On March 16, 2006 in the atrium of the Glashütte Original factory, Frank Reichel, mayor of the town of Glashütte, Nick Hayek, CEO of the Swatch Group, and Frank Müller, Managing Director of Glashütte Original, put their signatures to a document confirming the creation of the «Deutsches Uhrenmuseum Glashütte – Nicolas G. Hayek» Foundation.
The aim of this Foundation is to set up and run an attractive watchmaking museum equipped with several libraries and demonstration workshops.
Sited in the historic building of the former German watchmaking school, the museum is intended for visitors from all over the world who want to learn about Glashütte’s fascinating watchmaking history from 1845 onwards. Renovation of the buildings was undertaken by Glashütte Original and the Swatch Group.
The Museum was opened to the public on May 23, 2008.
Copyright © 2013
The Swatch Group Ltd
Swatch Group, Brands and Companies – Landmarks, German Watch Museum Glashütte